Speeding Tickets & Other Traffic Violations
Over 40 million people are given a speeding ticket each year. That astounding number does not even include other traffic offenses such as Driving While License Revoked or Reckless Driving. So, if you have recently received a citation, do not feel alone. Whether it is your first ticket or one of many, each ticket can have a significant impact on your license. Traffic Court may seem simple, and if your appearance is not mandatory and the officer said just to pay your ticket, it may seem like an easy fix. However, “just paying” your ticket is you admitting guilt for the offense charged, which can have unintended consequences.
Most people are concerned with their insurance rates increasing. However, if you accumulate too many license points, your license can be revoked. Additionally, certain charges within a specific period of time can also revoke your license. The attorneys at Smith Horton Law know how to analyze your options, which can keep your license from being revoked and keep your insurance rates down.
There are two types of points: License points and insurance points.
License Points are assigned by the North Carolina Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV). You gain points when you are convicted of violating a motor vehicle law. Points are assigned for convictions such as reckless driving, no liability insurance, running through a red light, and speeding. Each charge has varying point values assigned to it. If you accumulate a total of 12 license points in three years, the DMV can revoke your license.
Other charges that may revoke your license include:
- Two or more speeding charges in excess of 55 mph but not more than 80 mph within a twelve-month period
- Speeding in excess of 75 mph where the posted speed limit is less than 70mph
- Speeding in excess of 80 mph where the speed limit is 70mph.
The DMV can revoke your license anywhere from 30 days to permanently depending on the charge and your prior history. However, if your license is revoked you may be eligible for a limited driving privilege.
Insurance Points are assigned by your individual insurance company. North Carolina created the Safe Driver Incentive Plan (SDIP) which authorizes your insurance company to increase your rates by a specific amount after a motor vehicle violation.
So before you listen to the citing officer who said “just pay it,” contact Smith Horton today.
FROM THE BLOG
by Courtney Ballard The legend of a Prayer for Judgment Continued (PJC) has been around for decades. As a teenager, I thought every traffic ticket could be solved by a PJC, and today, I continue to have clients ask “Can I get a Prayer for Judgment Continued?” While a PJC is often...